My last letter.. 7 April 2014

I had a lot of emotions throughout this last week… emotions of happiness.. of saddness.. and lots and lots of stress. However, I would like to share a special experience.

Last Sunday, while I was getting ready for the day… I felt in my heart that everything will be okay.. and that the Lord is pleased… I felt extremely tranquil… and since then, I had been extremely peaceful… I cannot describe it. I am not happy or sad anymore.. I am only peaceful.. And I had been living with this peace for the rest of the week. It`s absolutely beautiful.

A couple days ago, a companion of mine (she was on divisions with the hermana liders in the house) and asked for advice.. We stayed up late, but I helped her.. During that time, I received more revelation… I read to her Helaman 10:1-5… And it was beautiful.. Suddenly the Spirit told me something extremely special.. At the end of verse 4.. The Lord said that He was pleased because Nefi did His will and kept the commandments… I felt that pierce into my heart..

I am not the best missionary… I didnt have much success… Nor special assignments.. I am not anyone extraordinary or did something incredible.. because I did not do any of that.. Only the Lord did all of those things.. However, I did do His will the best I could.. and that is what matters to me.. And for that.. I feel EVEN MORE at peace.

I am a very happy person and I know that this gospel is the only happiness we can have in this life. I know that my Savior lives and He loves us so much…

To end the mission, we are required to write a few thoughts to the President.. and this form has some questions.. I would like to write one of the questions and answers.

  1. The development of your relation with the Lord:
  1. My Savior… is more than everything to me. I have tears in my eyes just thinking about everything He had done for me. I knew before that He had suffered and died for me, but now it means so more to me.. I KNOW that the Atonement is real… that repentance is truly a gift… In my mission, I had felt very close to the Lord. I felt only the slightest bit of how He felt… when people rejected me.. spat on me.. when the people I truly love fell in sin or turned away from making sacred covenants with the Lord. I had learned to love the people that hated me and I had learned the meaning of forgiveness.. All of my mission, I had learned a little more about my Savior everyday… and the depthness of His Atonement. In the times of my deepest despair, the Lord comforted me.. AND I felt His love for me. He was there for me and He NEVER left me alone. I had experiened someone wrapping their arms around me. Through the Atonement, I had received strength to keep on going, to work with all my heart, might, mind, and strength. Especially I had felt peace truly.. The Lord has done all of this for me, and I can never pay the debt… for that, I give thanks to Him for His mercy, love, and grace. I testify with all my heart and soul that our Savior and Redeemer lives! I testify of the power of His Atonement. Here on the mission, I had come to develop a special relationship with my Savior and I will continue to do so until the end of my days on this earth and throughout all time and eternity.

With tears in my eyes, I write to you all.. testifying of this wonderful Plan that God has created for us. I testify of His love. I know that this is the true church.. and that the Book of Mormon is true. I know we have a true living prophet on the earth.. and he guides and directs us, under the direction of our Savior.

Thank you all for your love, prayers, and support for me and for my sister throughout our missions. I will see you in a few days.

I know that my Redeemer lives!

Hermana S.C. Ricks

Mision Chile Santiago Sur

Leave a Reply

